Book review – The Year I Met You by Cecelia Ahern

Hi everyone! How are you all doing? Hope you are having an awesome day!
Today, I am going to do a book review on “The Year I Met You” by Cecelia Ahern. Before I start off this review I want to thank everyone who had wished me luck for my exams. Thank you all so much! On a further note, my exams went really well.
Ok then let’s get to the review…

image

Author : Cecelia Ahern
Published on: October 9, 2014

This book focuses mainly on Jasmine, a successful business woman. She is young and is definitely considered as a workaholic. She loves doing her job until one day she got fired and was forced to take one year’s gardening leave which meant that she would be paid but can’t work anywhere else and especially cannot join any competitive company. Jasmine is not the kind of person who could enjoy a year of holiday just chilling and relaxing but she felt that this was an opportunity for her to catch up on some family and friends’ time. For the first few weeks, she was able to stay relaxed and enjoy this time she had with her loved ones but as time passed, she was bored out of her mind.

What annoys her most is her neighbour, Matt’s late night rackets which manages to wake the whole neighbourhood. Matt is a successful radio presenter and DJ who is put on a temporary leave for all the catastrophes he has caused in his radio station. Matt always comes home at a late hour in a drunken state and starts shouting at his house while blaring music in his car. Soon, his family moves out of the house leaving a spare key with Jasmine. Jasmine has despised Matt ever since he hosted an extremely heartless show revolving around Down syndrome, a topic very important to her because her sister, Heather has it.

When I first started reading this novel, I found it to very confusing to understand their backgrounds but as the story continued, I became hooked. You could say I was engrossed in the book as I found it quite captivating. We are able to see the close friendship between Jasmin and Heather and how protective Jasmine is of her sister. The gardening leave had made Jasmine incredibly depressed but she was able to overcome this emotion. A very unlikely friendship blossoms between Jasmine and Matt and their late night talk along with another neighbour was always so interesting to read. Honestly speaking, I would say that I had really enjoyed reading this book. This was certainly a very thought-provoking story in the end.
(So I decided to rate books that I review from now on)

4/5

gold-stargold-stargold-stargold-star

My favourite quote from this book is “Just when the caterpillar thought the world was over, it became a butterfly…”

Have you read this book? What were your thoughts on it? Anyway that’s the end of this post! I hope you enjoyed. Bye everyone! See you all later 😀

20 thoughts on “Book review – The Year I Met You by Cecelia Ahern

  1. Donna says:

    Great review! I haven’t read anything from Cecelia Ahern yet but this one sounds like something I’d enjoy 🙂 I am a workaholic and a gardening leave sounds like a huge punishment!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. meetruchisharma says:

    Thats a great review. I have read this book. Yes you are right, its a good read and confusing at the same time. Usually Cecilia Ahern books have a simple storyline, a bit confusing in the middle and thought provoking and give great message for life…have you read ‘The Time of My Life’ and ‘The Gift’ by Cecilia Ahern? These are couple of great books if you are a Cecilia Ahern fan 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

